Ingredient and labeling issues associated with allergenic foods

Steve L. Taylor, Susan L. Hefle

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

59 Citations (Scopus)

Abstract

Foods contain a wide range of food ingredients that serve numerous technical functions. Per capita consumer exposure to most of these food ingredients is rather low with a few notable exceptions such as sugar and starch. Some food ingredients including edible oils, hydrolyzed proteins, lecithin, starch, lactose, flavors and gelatin may, at least in some products, be derived from sources commonly involved in IgE-mediated food allergies. These ingredients should be avoided by consumers with allergies to the source material if the ingredient contains detectable protein residues. Other food ingredients, including starch, malt, alcohol and vinegar, may be derived in some cases from wheat, rye or barley, the grains that are implicated in the causation of celiac disease. If these ingredients contain gluten residues, then they should be avoided by celiac sufferers. A few food ingredients are capable of eliciting allergic sensitization, although these ingredients would be classified as rarely allergenic. These ingredients include carmine, cochineal extract, annatto, tragacanth gum and papain. Food manufacturers should declare the presence of allergenic food ingredients in the ingredient listings on product labels so that allergic consumers can know to avoid these potentially hazardous products.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)64-69
Number of pages6
JournalAllergy: European Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, Supplement
Volume56
Issue number67
StatePublished - Jun 27 2001

Fingerprint

Food
Starch
Tragacanth
Carmine
Papain
Food Hypersensitivity
Lecithins
Glutens
Celiac Disease
Hordeum
Gelatin
Lactose
Acetic Acid
Causality
Abdomen
Immunoglobulin E
Triticum
Hypersensitivity
Oils
Proteins

Keywords

  • Allergenic foods
  • Food labeling

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Immunology and Allergy
  • Immunology

Cite this

Ingredient and labeling issues associated with allergenic foods. / Taylor, Steve L.; Hefle, Susan L.

In: Allergy: European Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, Supplement, Vol. 56, No. 67, 27.06.2001, p. 64-69.

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

@article{a6c5a2a1fcba434d82eab18bec04290e,
title = "Ingredient and labeling issues associated with allergenic foods",
abstract = "Foods contain a wide range of food ingredients that serve numerous technical functions. Per capita consumer exposure to most of these food ingredients is rather low with a few notable exceptions such as sugar and starch. Some food ingredients including edible oils, hydrolyzed proteins, lecithin, starch, lactose, flavors and gelatin may, at least in some products, be derived from sources commonly involved in IgE-mediated food allergies. These ingredients should be avoided by consumers with allergies to the source material if the ingredient contains detectable protein residues. Other food ingredients, including starch, malt, alcohol and vinegar, may be derived in some cases from wheat, rye or barley, the grains that are implicated in the causation of celiac disease. If these ingredients contain gluten residues, then they should be avoided by celiac sufferers. A few food ingredients are capable of eliciting allergic sensitization, although these ingredients would be classified as rarely allergenic. These ingredients include carmine, cochineal extract, annatto, tragacanth gum and papain. Food manufacturers should declare the presence of allergenic food ingredients in the ingredient listings on product labels so that allergic consumers can know to avoid these potentially hazardous products.",
keywords = "Allergenic foods, Food labeling",
author = "Taylor, {Steve L.} and Hefle, {Susan L.}",
year = "2001",
month = "6",
day = "27",
language = "English (US)",
volume = "56",
pages = "64--69",
journal = "Allergy: European Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, Supplement",
issn = "0108-1675",
publisher = "Wiley-Blackwell",
number = "67",

}

TY - JOUR

T1 - Ingredient and labeling issues associated with allergenic foods

AU - Taylor, Steve L.

AU - Hefle, Susan L.

PY - 2001/6/27

Y1 - 2001/6/27

N2 - Foods contain a wide range of food ingredients that serve numerous technical functions. Per capita consumer exposure to most of these food ingredients is rather low with a few notable exceptions such as sugar and starch. Some food ingredients including edible oils, hydrolyzed proteins, lecithin, starch, lactose, flavors and gelatin may, at least in some products, be derived from sources commonly involved in IgE-mediated food allergies. These ingredients should be avoided by consumers with allergies to the source material if the ingredient contains detectable protein residues. Other food ingredients, including starch, malt, alcohol and vinegar, may be derived in some cases from wheat, rye or barley, the grains that are implicated in the causation of celiac disease. If these ingredients contain gluten residues, then they should be avoided by celiac sufferers. A few food ingredients are capable of eliciting allergic sensitization, although these ingredients would be classified as rarely allergenic. These ingredients include carmine, cochineal extract, annatto, tragacanth gum and papain. Food manufacturers should declare the presence of allergenic food ingredients in the ingredient listings on product labels so that allergic consumers can know to avoid these potentially hazardous products.

AB - Foods contain a wide range of food ingredients that serve numerous technical functions. Per capita consumer exposure to most of these food ingredients is rather low with a few notable exceptions such as sugar and starch. Some food ingredients including edible oils, hydrolyzed proteins, lecithin, starch, lactose, flavors and gelatin may, at least in some products, be derived from sources commonly involved in IgE-mediated food allergies. These ingredients should be avoided by consumers with allergies to the source material if the ingredient contains detectable protein residues. Other food ingredients, including starch, malt, alcohol and vinegar, may be derived in some cases from wheat, rye or barley, the grains that are implicated in the causation of celiac disease. If these ingredients contain gluten residues, then they should be avoided by celiac sufferers. A few food ingredients are capable of eliciting allergic sensitization, although these ingredients would be classified as rarely allergenic. These ingredients include carmine, cochineal extract, annatto, tragacanth gum and papain. Food manufacturers should declare the presence of allergenic food ingredients in the ingredient listings on product labels so that allergic consumers can know to avoid these potentially hazardous products.

KW - Allergenic foods

KW - Food labeling

UR - http://www.scopus.com/inward/record.url?scp=0034966117&partnerID=8YFLogxK

UR - http://www.scopus.com/inward/citedby.url?scp=0034966117&partnerID=8YFLogxK

M3 - Article

C2 - 11298013

AN - SCOPUS:0034966117

VL - 56

SP - 64

EP - 69

JO - Allergy: European Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, Supplement

JF - Allergy: European Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, Supplement

SN - 0108-1675

IS - 67

ER -